Avoiding the Bored Student Blues

Avoiding the Bored Student Blues

I will focus my blogging activity on approaches to fostering reading motivation through student inquiry and metacognitive approaches. My goal is to better understand some of the field-level dialogue, best-practices and theories on motivation and inquiry and to expand my current repertoire of related class room practices and assignments. In other words, my goal is to avoid as much of this as possible:

One of my concerns is how to both expose students to challenging new writers and materials and put them in charge of choosing their reading. Right now my approach would be to offer students a limited selection of materials to choose from on a few topics – a pretty much standard teacher guided approach. But, I am wondering if it’s possible to take this further, to engage students’ imaginations in a way that really puts them in the director chair of their own college-level inquiry, kind of an I-Learn paper on steroids, where students design their own course of learning, and by god, embark on a lifelong learning quest!

I also want to look at the impact of the classroom discourse community in terms of fostering motivation. How can the classroom environment and practices facilitate that highly lusted after class full of engaged, inspired budding scholars? How can I get students truly excited about sharing their projects and learning about other students’?

Another way I want to approach looking at motivation and inquiry is through metacognitive approaches. Aren’t students who are beginning to engage in understanding their own learning processes more engaged? This could be a whole new world of excitement for some students, so how to get there?

Some things I have found so far that look interesting include:

 

 

One response to “Avoiding the Bored Student Blues

  1. This is a topic well worth pursuing. Look for things particularly related to reading — the motivation chapter in the Handbook will have plenty of resources — and be sure that if you reference something that’s outside the reading arena, you connect it to reading.

Leave a Reply

